Principal Investigator

Dr. David J. Clarke

Senior Lecturer, School of Chemistry

David J. Clarke hails from South Yorkshire, but moved to Scotland to complete his MChem (2001) and PhD (2006) in the School of Chemistry, at the University of Edinburgh. His postgraduate research was focused on in enzymology and protein chemistry. David was then appointed as Teaching Fellow in the School (2006); before a RASOR post-doctoral research fellowship. During this appointment his research focused on the application of high resolution FT-ICR mass spectrometry techniques to biological systems.


He was appointed as Chancellor's Fellow in the School of Chemistry in September 2014, (Tenured) Lecturer in September 2017 and Senior Lecturer in March 2019. He leads the Biomolecular Mass Spectrometry Group. 


Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Member of the Biochemical Society

Member of the British Mass Spectrometry Society

Member of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry

Investigator - Consortium for Top-Down Proteomics

Post-Graduate Students

Kelly Gallagher (4th Year PhD)


Kelly completed a BSc Biochemistry at the University of Glasgow, completing her project with Dr Cheryl Woolhead. She then completed an MSc Biochemistry within the University of Edinburgh carrying out a research project with Dr Jon Marles-Wright, looking at the structure of marine proteins. With a background in molecular biology and protein production, she will be working on manipulating the isotopic distribution in recombinant proteins for mass spectrometry analysis. 

Jenn Ross (4th Year PhD)


Jenn graduated from the University of Edinburgh in June 2016 with an MChem in Medicinal and Biological Chemistry with a Year Abroad. She carried out her undergraduate project with Dr Simon Daff on the structure and chacterisation of a Cytochrome P450. She has now joined the EASTBIO DTP, and is studying the structure and function of encapsulated ferritins. This research utilises a combination of mass spectrometry, x-ray crystallography, electron microscopy and will be carried out in collaboration with the Marles-Wright Lab (Newcastle University)

Lavrentis Galanopoulos (4th Year PhD)


Lavrentis graduated with a BSc in chemistry from Aristotle University in 2015 before gaining his MSc in Analytical Science from the University of Warwick in 2016. His postgraduate research was supervised by Prof. Martin Wills, synthesizing a functionalized conjugation agent and subsequently attaching this molecule to several biological units including peptides and proteins. After graduating, he joined the Clarke Group at the University of Edinburgh where he started a Ph.D. studentship in the CDT- Sensing and Measurement course in which he will be measuring protein electrochemical potentials in biological systems by FT-ICR MS.

Thomas Lambert (4th Year PhD)


Thomas completed his BSc in Biochemistry at the University of Portsmouth, completing his project with Dr. Fiona Myers. He then worked for two years with the analytical equipment company ARC Sciences. His responsibilities included demonstrating, selling, and installing analytical research products to research laboratories, hospitals, and universities in the UK. Following this, he completed an MSc in regenerative medicine at the University of Edinburgh. He will be working on developing an Automated Hydrogen/Deuterium Exchange Mass Spectrometry (HDX-MS) Platform to Study the Structure and Assembly of Bacterial Nanocompartments


Kiani Jeacock (3rd Year PhD)


Kiani received a BSc in Biochemistry with a Year in Industry from the University of Liverpool in 2017, before completing an MRes in Structural Biology at the same university. Her Masters research with Dr. Jill Madine employed numerous structural biology, biochemical, cell, and human tissue-based techniques to probe an interaction between two amyloid proteins in Alzheimer’s disease. Her Ph.D. project in the Clarke group will utilize multiple mass spectrometry techniques to study the effect of post-translational modification on the structure and function of alpha-synuclein, the protein associated with Parkinson’s disease.

mugshot (1).jpg

Maria Mateos Jimenez (3rd Year PhD)


Maria graduated with a degree in Pharmacy from Complutense University of Madrid in 2016, completing her research project as an Erasmus student at The Jagiellonian University in Krakow. After a 6-month internship in the Department of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Development at Merck KGaA (Darmstadt), she came to The University of Edinburgh to pursue her MSc degree in Medicinal and Biological Chemistry. As part of the PCDS program, she will be applying mass spectrometry to study protein-protein interactions.


Undergraduate Students

Ben Wong (2018-2019, MChem)

Lenette Kjaer (2018-2019, MChemX)

Andreas Olympios (2019-2020, MChemX)

Visiting Scientists

Dr. Clint Veale. Lecturer, Rhodes University

Clint has just been awarded a Royal Society-Newton Mobility Grant entitled 'Inhibiting the HOP-Hsp90 interaction through fragment based drug discovery'. The funding will allow Clint to continue his colloboration with the Clarke group and make several research visits to Edinburgh between Sept 2016-2019. 


Sally Vanden-Hehir (2014-2015, MChemX)


Alison McKenzie (2015-2016, MChemX)

Hayley Lazar (2016, Visiting Student. B. S. Chemistry, University of Connecticut)

Matthias Tinzl (2016, Erasmus exchange, ETH Zurich)

Sophie Atkins (2016-2017, BSc Chemistry)

Sam Garel-Jones (2016-2017, BSc Chemistry)

Michael Ness (2016-2017, Biochemistry Honours)

Michael Palasser (2017, Erasmus exchange. Innsbruck University)

Kathryn Stevenson (2017-2018, MChemX)

Hannah Moseley (2018-2018, BSc Chemistry)

Adam Karpinski (2018, Erasmus Exchange. University of Warsaw)

Dr Jo Simpson (2016-2018, PDRA)

Dr Lulu Tucker (2015-2019, PhD student)

Dr Sam Hughes (2015-2019, PhD student)

Dr Jenn Ross (2016-2020, PhD student)

Dr Kelly Gallagher (2016-2020, PhD student)

Dr Tom Lambert (2017-2021, PhD student)